Dedicated Harrisburg Lawyer Fights for Criminally Charged Members
Overview of Misdemeanors in Pennsylvania
Misdemeanors are generally classified as lesser crimes and are distinctly different from felony offenses; however, a misdemeanor conviction can still cost you serious penalties including jail time, fines and probation. The state of Pennsylvania grades crimes on degrees of classification, ranging from felonies to misdemeanors, with misdemeanors often allowing the shortest amount of sentencing. It is important to remember though, that each misdemeanor offense could potentially be increased to a felony and if you have been charged, you need to work with a Harrisburg criminal lawyer from Crisp and Associates, LLC as soon as possible.
In Pennsylvania, a first-degree misdemeanor could include various theft crimes less than $150 (for first or second offenses) and simple assault crimes. If this arrest is your first offense, you could be convicted and be required to spend at least thirty days in jail and pay fines or restitution to the victim of your crime. If the offense is a misdemeanor but is considered to be a wobbler crime, you could have your case elevated to a felony offense, even for a first-time offender.
Penalties for a Misdemeanor Conviction
- $10,000 fine
- Up to 5 years in jail
- $5,000 in fines
- Up to 2 years in jail
- $2,500 in fines
- Up to 1 year in jail
Retain Legal Assistance for Your Misdemeanor Charges
Are you ready to move forward with retaining the legal defense that you deserve? It is important that you contact our misdemeanor defense law firm as soon as possible. With the retention of our team you may be able to reach a favorable resolution for your case. Our defense attorneys are proud to offer free case evaluations to all potential clients and the opportunity to work directly with the attorney who will be handling your case. If you have been arrested or a loved one is facing a misdemeanor charge, do not hesitate to contact Crisp and Associates, LLC today and schedule your consultation.